Thank you for visiting

To log out and end your session, click "OK"

Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 116 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Controls her hyperthyroidism without any medication. Excellent product. My cat was quite aggressive growling at night and drinking a great deal of water. The Vet was talking radiation and then I learned of YD formula. After a couple months on this food her thyroid labs returned to normal. I highly recommend and avoided having to administer pills which would have been a mutual nightmare. November 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by easy transfer from old food. Thrived well on y/d. Ate y/d as his meal and also used it as his treat, since he could not have any other food. no more pills to buy or forgetting to give them twice a day. October 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bean's thyroid has returned to a normal range with the y/d diet This product is wonderful. My 17 year old cat was too old and sick for any other thyroid treatments. Oral medication did not work and had to be stopped - it caused intense itching above the eyes that resulted in sore areas. Bean was quickly running out of options. Since Bean has been on the diet (wet and dry food), it is obvious he feels much much better - his coat is shiny again, he has started to play again, and he looks better than most cats his age (per the vet tech at my vet's office). Bean has gained about 6 ounces since the diet. I feed Bean the wet y/d in small portions every 3/4 hours and always keep the dry food out for him. I have my best buddy back again and I am grateful! September 27, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Glad for this product My cat was diagnosed with borderline thyroid difficulties a couple of years ago. I am very grateful that there was a dietary treatment available, so that we didn't have to jump right into meds/surgery/etc. It's been about two years now, and my cat's thyroid levels are maintaining in the borderline healthy range. Thanks for developing the Y/D product! September 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous!! I cannot imagine having to medicate my 18 year kitty 2 times daily ;/ It would be way too stressful for both of us! Y/D is a miracle for us! Thanks HIlls :) September 25, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by effective for thyroid problems My cat was 13 years old when I started him on the y/d Prescription Diet dry food due to thyroid problems. He is now 14 years old and has a normal thyroid level and has gained back the weight he lost. September 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bear my Bear Baby liked the food. It got to where I couldn't afford the food and changed to pills. He really hates that. But I did like the food it was easier. thank you Martha Kent September 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cat gaining weight Have a 17 year old cat and was diagnosed with a thyroid condition. She had lost quite a bit of weight. y/d was recommended by the vet and she has gained her weight back and is now doing quite well. September 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by My cat LOVES this stuff! My 18-yr. old cat was diagnosed with a thyroid condition and her vet recommended Hill's Science Y/D Prescription Diet food for her. It has improved her health, resulted in weight gain and, best of all, she loves it! Yes it does have a bit of a strong(er# odor, but what cat food doesn't? And it is pricier, but she and her health are worth every penny. I would highly recommend this and other Hill's Science Diet food to all pet #cats AND dogs) owners! September 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome product for thyroid in cats My cat was 10 lbs and in 3 months got down to a little under 5. The vet put her on the Y/D product and within 2 months she was back up at her healthy 10 lbs with a beautiful shiny coat and kitten attitude, even though she is 12. September 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is a blessing to my cat and to me. My cat isn't the nicest cat in the world. She didn't have the greatest start in life and was abandoned by her former owner. I took her in and accepted her on her own terms. A couple of years ago she was prescribed y/d, since trying to medicate her would be very difficult for her and for me. She liked it from the start and is doing well on it. What would be helpful to me is if Hill's came out with a y/d treat. Just a little something different for these y/d kitties. Thanks to you for making y/d. It made caring for my special needs kitty stress free for her and for me. September 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by This product really works The treats for this specific condition are very difficult to find and or purchase. I would love to be able to purchase them for my cat so he may have at least a small variety other than just the food. I have purchased the wet food , however, it varies in consistency in moisture. He vary seldom will eat the wet food, especially when it's drier than normal. Improving the taste of this specific food may make it more appealing for cats as mine simply eats it because he has to. I really appreciate when you provide coupons as they are vary rare and hard to find. I am very grateful that you have a food that I can use for his condition as an alternative, so I can avoid putting him on medication for the rest of his life. September 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by y/d Thyroid Cat Food The y/d for thyroid has been very helpful for Foster. He would not take the pills, and we fought constantly. We switched to the dry and the wet food. Although he will never be the big cat (17lbs) he was, the improvement in his condition was more than I thought possible. We really thought he was a goner. So, I would definitely recommend to anyone who has a cat with this condition, to try either or both of your thyroid food. August 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by good and healthy for my cat recommended by my vet, to help with cats weight gain. keep thyroid issue in check. June 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This food works very well for our cat. Our cat has been on this food for 6 months and is doing very well. He likes both the wet and dry. As suggested in another review, we do mix the wet with some water as it is very dense. It is wonderful not to have to worry about giving him medication. Thanks for having it available. April 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by A lifesaver After much emotional turmoil over my geriatric (age 19) cat's thyroid tumor and associated decline in overall health, I was searching for options beyond medication, surgery, or radioiodine treatment. We tried topical meds which resulted in terrible ear infections and scratching. The first year of oral meds was OK, but tedious to feed and cat was continuing to lose weight and vomiting often. We switched to strict diet of y/d dry and wet, no treats or other food. She is off all meds, holding her own, and seems better overall. She seldom vomits, eats her dry food like a champ, free-feed. She is not gaining weight but has stopped losing weight and her overall health is improved, plus she is happier and more affectionate now....she obviously feels better. Regarding the y/d wet canned food, she acts interested, but only takes a bite or two and leaves the rest. She will only eat it when it is ultra-fresh, just opened can, so it would be better if Hill's would offer y/d in much smaller single-portion cans. I try to seal/refrigerate and re-serve portions from the can, but she refuses to eat it, so a lot of valuable food goes in the trash. It would be great if Hill's could produce a y/d treat to compliment this restricted diet. The experience of sharing treats with my kitty is something we both miss, but I must keep her to the strict diet. March 26, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor quality dry food/moderate quality wet food The vet suggested starting with this food before moving onto the medication. There was no change in the T4 numbers after a month of use and the liver numbers were worse. My cat HATED the food and it was all I could do to get him to eat it. He is a tiny 6 lbs right now so we cannot afford for him not to eat. I tried the gradual switch over and was successful getting him to eat it about half the time. He also hated Hill's C/D when he was prescribed that several years ago. Additionally, the ingredients for the dry food, the one he actually preferred, are all by products and fillers. I do understand that many food sources have a lot of iodine therefore some things must be limited (fish), but why can't he have real chicken and not by products? The wet food has a better list of ingredients, however even though water is listed as the first ingredient many cans were the consistency of wet sand. I had to put water on it for him to even consider eating. My cats all enjoy food with gravy and this would have been much more successful if we would have had at least some gravy. I use another HIll's prescription food or another cat and this variety is quite good (as evidenced by the ingredient list that includes real meat). I know this is a relatively new product but it will not work if they are not willing to eat it and I am very nervous about all of the by products and fillers (mill run??). March 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by UpstateNYLady My hyperthyroid cat loves the dry diet. It stabilized his bodily functions in less than 8 hrs after starting it. I also give him the canned Y/d as a treat and he loves that too. He's even started to gain weight! Thanks for your caring response to my email about feeding guidelines. This is a great product! February 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Choice of a softer dry food. My cats like the dry food but since they are both 15+ they have a hard time chewing and this sometimes leads to vomiting. Also notice that their stool is very hard. The food has been beneficial in treating their thyroid condition but I would like to see more variety. January 23, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by YD really works Our otherwise healthy, 12 year-old cat was getting thin and listless. The veterinarian diagnosed her with a thyroid condition and told us about three options. The least invasive was Hills' YD cat food. After being on the food for several weeks, her thyroid hormone levels started to decline to normal. Today, we feed her both the YD wet and dry foods, depending on her mood. Her thyroid levels are normal and she is in great health. Thank you for saving our cat's life--without the improvement in her thyroid hormone levels, she would most certainly not be with us today. December 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good product Vert good for my cat, for it new diet. It really enjoy it November 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by My cat is better! When we adopted our cat, he was old and slow moving and getting thinner every day. We were worried and took him to the vet had us put him on a strict diet to help with his thyroid condition. Now Tiger moves quickly, he's gained weight and his eyes are big and open. It's like a new cat and we are very happy. We love him and are grateful he's healthier and we can enjoy him longer. November 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great prescription food idea! Yay, no more forcing pills down her throat. Just fed my cat the YD food and her levels were good. October 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Works great in regulating thyroid levels I could not get my cats thyroid levels under control on medication, however I was able to once I put him on a y/d diet plan. My only complaint is that when I feed the recommended amount for a 7 pound cat a 4 pound bag lasts 3 weeks. This makes for a very expensive meal plan. October 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Y/D My 17 1/2 year old cat enjoys this dry food and even more important, the food is completely responsible for normalizing his thyroid function numbers. October 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Necessary Product My cat was placed on a tyroid diet and this is the only food she can eat. She eats it up and is always begging for more so it must taste great!! And I get to have my pet around for a longer life!!!!!! October 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hoping the product lives up to its name. slowly weening off my cat from her old food to this food since we found out she has a thyroid condition and was recommended by vet to give this a try. Won't know until ten weeks when blood tests are done if it is working. So far she is enjoying the food. The only problem is the price. So expensive!!! Thanks for coupon it helped lower it somewhat. October 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by my cat is better My cat, Bailey, was down to 6 lbs from over 8 lbs. She would not take a pill, the Y/D has given her a longer life. I wish it were a bit less expensive.q was October 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by more variety, like treats, needed It is very hard in a multiple pet home to keep your cat away from every other food available and then to not be able to feed her any treats, is not good. We come to make her feel like the can food is a treat to her, which makes it a little easier, but I do wish you could make treats. September 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is good for Bear. I just wish I could get some coupons that is worth something. Thank you martha kent September 25, 2014
  • 2015-12-01 T08:40:15.154-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_116, tr_116
  • loc_en_US, sid_PD_FL_D_d_yd_o_O_n_orig, prod, sort_default
2 3 4 next>>